Naked power

June 13, 2008

A good old boy from Texas who hasn’t gotten out much:

HOUSTON – Robert Hurt went to Washington and didn’t like what he saw – nudity in the nation’s capital.

“Nude women, sculptured women,” he told the state Republican platform committee, which sat in rapt attention.

Of all the evils in Washington that the Texas GOP took aim at this week, removing art with naked people from public view was high on the list for Mr. Hurt, a delegate from Kerrville.

“You don’t have nude art on your front porch,” he explained. “You possibly don’t have nude art in your living rooms. So why is it important to have that in the common places of Washington, D.C.?”

Removing nekkid art from public view didn’t make it into the GOP platform, so I guess visitors to Washington are gonna have to resign thenselves to being corrupted.

6 Responses to “Naked power”

  1. Harl Delos Says:

    Should we empty out art museums, replacing Picasso with velvet Elvises, and Rembrandt with Snap-On calendars, and burn the periodicals and books in the libraries, filling them with 3-year old issues of Entertainment Weekly, and Reader’s Digest condensed books?

    I’ve often wondered whether, if Pat Robertson had ever visited the old Lincoln Bank in Lincoln Tower, he would have explained that as why the City of Churches had to become the City That Saved Itself.

  2. Larry Morris Says:

    Boy, I tell you, you just never know what them fellers from Kerrville are gonna do next, …

  3. Leo Morris Says:

    Larry: I thought the Texas expression was, “Boy, I tell you WHUT.”

    I don’t have any nekkid art on my front porch or in the living room, but I have a wonderful painting of a nude woman on the wall in my den. It was over my favorite booth at the bar we all hung out at in Michigan City. When I left there to come here, my going-away party was at the bar, and the owner — my friend, Cathy — gave it to me as a going-away present.

    I frequently look at the painting and muse about the past. Yeah, that’s what I do. Muse about the past.

  4. Larry Morris Says:

    Sounds like you need a moon pie and an RC to help you muse, …

  5. de_tokeville Says:

    A canteloupe and some KY.

  6. Harl Delos Says:

    You really think Kentucky Jelly tastes good on cantelopes?


Leave a Reply

