Hey, Rocky, watch . . . out!

July 31, 2008

Squirrel, 1; men mysteriously driving around at 3:30 a.m., 0:

Two Lafayette men avoided serious injuries overnight when their car rolled over after swerving to avoid a squirrel.

[. . .]

The car hit the right side curb, struck a tree, rolled over and landed upside down in the 18th Street intersection, Rosen said.

My first reaction was that I’d swerve for a dog or a cat or even a duck waddling across the road, but the squirrels should not test me. But I’m guessing this was just an instinctive reaction. Most of us do not think, when confronted with a wandering obstacle, “Why, I think I will make a sudden move to avoid that creature because, when all is said and done, all life is precious.” We just see something and hit the brakes.

2 Responses to “Hey, Rocky, watch . . . out!”

  1. Bob G. Says:

    Makes me wonder….I usually DO NOT see squirrels out after dark. Possums, yes. Ditto for raccoons. But squirrels?
    Blame it on global warming, I suppose.

    And at 3:30AM, I wonder WHAT bar they were coming from?
    (“That squirrel was THIS BIG, officer, honest”)

    Ahh…the one that “got away”.

    😉

    B.G.

  2. Harl Delos Says:

    Their own darned fault for living in Indiana.

    Here in Pennsylvania, folks are HIGHLY SKILLED in swerving, avoiding potholes so we don’t have to pay for re-alignment.


Leave a Reply

