Walking wounded

August 19, 2008

Omigod, the poor dears:

Faced with soaring diesel fuel costs, school districts are forcing students to use the old-fashioned way to get to class: on their own two feet.

Many schools are eliminating or reducing bus service because fuel had jumped to $4.50 per gallon, 36 percent more than a year ago, and is busting budgets.

In California, districts are eliminating busing for thousands of students. Districts in Washington state, Idaho and Maryland and elsewhere are consolidating bus stops, canceling field trips and forcing students to walk longer distances to school to control costs.

Worried parents in Massachusetts have called WalkBoston, a nonprofit group that promotes walking, asking for help after their communities cut back on busing.

Granted, I don’t have the professional experience of Walk Boston, but let’s see if I can help. Stand up straight with your two feet together. Lift one foot and place it a short distance in front of you. Put foot down. Pick up other foot and place it next to the first foot. Repeat as necessary.

Tomorrow, we’ll do “turning” and “stopping,” but this is probably more than enough for you to absorb for now.

3 Responses to “Walking wounded”

  1. Bob G. Says:

    ROFLMAO, Leo…!
    Yeah, THOSE were the days, eh?

    😉

    B.G.

  2. MichaelK Says:

    I wasn’t allowed to walk to school (Village Woods) because I lived across Hessen Cassel. Nothing irked me more than waiting on that damn bus when all I had to do was cross that one street. Bah!

    At least when I lived in Texas I got to ride my bike.

  3. MariAnne Michael Says:

    LMAO…You hit it right on the nose . Isn’t it pathetic that kids are so coddled nowadays that they have to be taught to walk to school? Mom or Dad might crawl out of bed and take them too if they don’t want them to walk. Not once in my school days did I ride a school bus to school. I had to hoof it 4 times a day. Had to walk home at lunch time and back. Might help some of the McDonalds fattened kids a little to learn to walk too. Mom and Dad might want to get off their fat butts and walk with them also.


Leave a comment